3.3
Good
  • User Friendly
    3.2
  • Support
    3.2
  • Features
    3.3
  • Reliability
    3.3
  • Pricing
    3.6
Write Review Visit Linode

Linode Review - Expert and User Insights by Paid Customers

Pricing Range

Shared Hosting NZ$5.00 - NZ$20.00
Dedicated Server NZ$20.00 - NZ$4,000.00
Cloud Hosting NZ$5.00 - NZ$960.00

Availability

99.9% Uptime

Data Centers

Robert Evinger

Pinned Review

Robert Evinger,
5.0
I've been running a personal and business website for myself and wife for over 20 years. Tried a number of providers and switched to Linode about 3 years ago. Best price and stability than prior provi...Read Moreders I've used.

I'm using a Nanode as all my sites are low volume. If you are comfortable with Linux administration its a good deal.
Less
Review Language
Show More
Sergio M
Sergio M from Australia,

Misleading regarding traffic usage

1.0
Users must be very careful regarding how overall traffic usage is prorated. I lost $68 as consequence of the confusing and misleading explanation regarding traffic usage and no warning at all after closing my account. A theft
We The People
We The People from United States,

Support Ticket 17760378 Linode is worthless VPS Sucks

1.0
Support Ticket 17760378 Linode is worthless, and pain in the ass, customer services are ignorants that should be working in !!!!!!! I received 5 emails about: Hello,

We have received a report of Spam originating from your Linod...Read Moree. This is most likely the result of a system compromise. If we have not heard from you in 24 hours, we may need to place network restrictions on your Linode to prevent further abuse.

In order to consider this resolved we will require the following from you:
Information about why this email might have been marked as spam
Steps taken to prevent this activity from reoccurring
We're here to help provide guidance, but keep in mind that investigating this on your behalf is beyond the scope of our support. Our Community Questions site can offer guidance in resolving this issue.
OK no Problem I had to respond to another 5 times
Hi there,

Since you demonstrate that you do understand the CAN-SPAM Act and you mentioned that all your emails currently follow the rules, we can consider this issue resolved. The network restrictions have been lifted from your Linode and you can resume sending emails.

If you have any other questions please let us know otherwise this ticket will automatically close in a few days.

Regards,
Linode Support Team

BUT AND HERE IS THE BIG BUT ASS AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN THEY ARE IDIOTS BYE BYE
Less
Robert Evinger
Robert Evinger from United States,
Moved from Hostwinds

Best I've used

5.0
I've been running a personal and business website for myself and wife for over 20 years. Tried a number of providers and switched to Linode about 3 years ago. Best price and stability than prior providers I've used.

I'm using a...Read More Nanode as all my sites are low volume. If you are comfortable with Linux administration its a good deal.Less
Zulfiqar Hussain
Zulfiqar Hussain from United Kingdom,

Bad reputation and blocked on many providers

2.2
Took out hosting with this company as recommended by developers from India. Any emails generated by the server are either blocked or end up in spam with international email providers. Tried this with Microsoft exchange accounts...Read More and btinternet. User registration emails are blocked. Tried for several weeks to resolve, seems to be OK if you are in India but UK providers block or treat all emails as spam. Paid for hosting, not likely to get my money back. Now changed to Go daddy and hoping that will be better.Less
Fuzzy
Fuzzy,
It has become extremely difficult to create and maintain an email service that will not be flagged as spam. It is much easier to just use a third party service.
Baruch Ben-David

Does What It Says

4.4
I was first attracted by the simple pricing scheme, and the fact that they let you pay per month. Setting up my account was simple. Starting my node was as easy as selecting a distribution to run. I also liked the fact that if ...Read MoreI didn't find the node adequate, I could cancel within seven days and get a refund. In fact, if memory serves, they didn't deduct the fee until the seven days had elapsed (don't quote me on that; I could be wrong).

I had a question early on, and requested information. They got back to me within a short time, a matter of a few hours or so. They were courteous and effective.

I am well pleased with linode.com, and would definitely recommend it to my friends, if they needed a VPS.
Less
Robert Hill
Robert Hill from Lithuania,

Serious rubbish

1.0
Why would you use a host with such a limited administrative options? Who does it nowadays? Its like a little kids sandbox hosting, where if something goes wrong, you don't even have means of figuring out, what happened. Utter and ...Read Moretotal S - H - I - T.

And by the way. I would have given them 1 out of 10, but this side does not allow less than 2.
Less
Anon Anon
Anon Anon from Russia,

Absolute CROOKS who do not respond to DMCA complaints

1.0
This company hosts websites run by Russian/Ukrainian criminals, such as https://forum.baginya.org. This website has been banned in Belarus and Russia.

When I contacted Linode with a DMCA complaint regarding someone posting my ...Read Morepersonal information and photos, they did NOTHING. They simply keep feeding me generic emails, continuing to host the website. At one point they denied they are hosting it!

This is the email I got from them!

***
Hi there,

We've received confirmation from Cloudflare that this is not currently hosted on our platform. At this time we consider this matter resolved, but if you believe this content is hosted on us again, please don't hesitate to reach back out to us.

If you have any questions or concerns, please let us know.

Regards,
Shelley (She/Her)
Linode Trust & Safety Team
***

I then filed an abuse complaint with Cloudflare and they confirmed they are hosting it. They then sent me another generic email:

Hi there,

I hope this finds you well. After further investigation of this matter, it seems that there has been a mistake on our end in regard to your complaint. I was able to verify that the content in question is hosted on our platform. With that being said I have gone ahead and issued a DMCA complaint on your behalf. We will reach out to you once we have an update from our customer. Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Best regards,

Brandon
Linode Support Team

***

They never do anything to remove offending content, breaking US law. These are criminals hosting criminal websites
Less
Omajemite Don
Omajemite Don,
So because they don't obey or follow DMCA means they are not reliable hosting company... Your DMCA complaint has nothing to do with their service....some best hosting companies do buy server from them.

DMCA policy has nothing ...Read Moreto do with reliability of a hosting company... Many hosting companies don't obey DMCA...

It would have been better you institute a suit against the website owner and.not the hosting company...
Less
We The People
We The People,
Support Ticket 17760378 Linode is worthless SCAM VPS services Beware
Support Ticket 17760378 Linode is worthless, and pain in the ass, customer services are ignorants that should be working in !!!!!!! I received 5 emails about: H...Read Moreello,

We have received a report of Spam originating from your Linode. This is most likely the result of a system compromise. If we have not heard from you in 24 hours, we may need to place network restrictions on your Linode to prevent further abuse.

In order to consider this resolved we will require the following from you:
Information about why this email might have been marked as spam
Steps taken to prevent this activity from reoccurring
We're here to help provide guidance, but keep in mind that investigating this on your behalf is beyond the scope of our support. Our Community Questions site can offer guidance in resolving this issue.
OK no Problem I had to respond to another 5 times
Hi there,

Since you demonstrate that you do understand the CAN-SPAM Act and you mentioned that all your emails currently follow the rules, we can consider this issue resolved. The network restrictions have been lifted from your Linode and you can resume sending emails.

If you have any other questions please let us know otherwise this ticket will automatically close in a few days.

Regards,
Linode Support Team

BUT AND HERE IS THE BIG BUT ASS AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN THEY ARE I.DIOTS BYE BYE
Less

Expert Review

Bruno Mirchevski
Bruno Mirchevski
Hosting Expert

Linode expert review cover image

Last Update | May 2022

Monthly Update – May 2022

Hosting PlansVPS Hosting; Dedicated Hosting
Top FeaturesDedicated CPUs, High Memory, GPUs, Bare Metal, Kubernetes, Block Storage, Object Storage, Backups, Cloud Firewalls, DDoS Protection, A DNS Manager, NodeBalancers, VLAN; Control Panel Integration; CMS Support; Pay by Usage; Usage and Performance Tracking; File Management
Customer SupportTicketing System; Email and Phone Support; Live Chat; Knowledge Base

 

During May, Linode Hosting:

  • Performed scheduled LISH, Weblish, Glish Console emergency maintenance.
  • Had a service issue with Lassie.
  • Had service issues with multiple data centers.
  • Had a service issue with its Object Storage service.
  • Performed scheduled network maintenance on its Tokyo 2 data centers.
  • Had issues with IPv6 on its Newark data center.
  • Performed scheduled maintenance on the Linode Kubernetes Engine.
  • Performed scheduled network maintenance on its Mumbai data center.
  • Performed scheduled emergency network maintenance on its Newark data center.

Linode was developed with the intention of helping users simplify their cloud infrastructure through Linux virtual machines alongside a robust set of tools to develop, deploy and even scale modern applications on a faster scale. The company believes that virtual computing has to be accessible to all and simple to understand.

7.8

Good

Rated by Bruno Mirchevski

  • User Friendly
    7

  • Support
    7

  • Features
    8

  • Reliability
    10

  • Pricing
    7

Screenshots

Linode was founded by Christopher Anker in 2003, making it a well-established company. With over 200 employees and decades in the industry, let’s see how they stack up and if they actually deliver on their promises and goals.

When it comes to their products, they offer shared hosting, dedicated CPU, high memory, GPU, bare metal, Kubernetes, block storage, object storage, backups, cloud firewalls, DDoS protection, a DNS manager, NodeBalancers, VLAN, and a lot more.

Keep in mind that Linode even offers a 1 week free trial on GPU High-Performance Cloud computing, which will allow you to test things before making a commitment to the service.

There’s also a unique referral program, where if someone signs up using your referral URL, you will receive a credit of $20, but the person has to remain an active customer for 90 days and spend at least $15 for you to receive this credit.

To test things out, I’ll go through the shared hosting route to see just what kind of an experience even the newest users that want to engage in online hosting will receive.

Note: Linode has 11 data centers and more than 800,000 customers worldwide.
  

Getting Started With Linode

Making an account, and connecting everything is actually quite enjoyable as well as a simple process at Linode.

All you have to do is open up the official website and find the Sign-Up button on the screen’s top right corner. Alternatively, you also have the Create Account button somewhere along the middle, which is always convenient. You can even sign up with GitHub if that is your preferred way.

Screenshot of Linode home page

You’ll need to create an account.

account creation screenshot

Here, you’ll need to enter your email, username, and password.

They’ll send you an email.

screenshot of the announcement that you have been sent an email

Next, you’ll need to log into your account and once you find the email, click on confirm.

screenshot of login page

After that, you’ll just need to enter your billing information.

screenshot of the form for adding billing information

And that’s about it, now you can click on the Go To Cloud Manager button to get started.

screenshot of the announcement that you have been sent a confirmation email

Setting Things Up at Linode

Once you log in, you’ll be greeted by this screen.

Screenshot of client area

Let’s see what we can do on the left navigation bar.

You have:

screenshot of Linodes/Create page

Here you can modify a few things, and we’ll get into the pricing later on, but basically, for the testing phase, I’ll be using the Nanode 1 GB, which is the cheapest option.

When it comes to the operating systems, you have a lot of options, and by default, Debian 10 is selected. You also have Ubuntu, and so on, but for my testing, I’ll be using my favorite, CentOS 7.

screenshot of Choosing a Distribution dropdown menu

region selection tab screenshot

In terms of region, I’ll select Frankfurt as it’s the closest server to my specific geographic location, but pick one that’s based on either your location or the location of your target visitors for the best results.

Note: In addition to having data centers in the U.S.A, Canada, Europe, and Asia, Linode also has a data center in Sydney, Australia.

Next, you’ll need to enter a password.

Here on the right side, you’ll have the complete Linode Summary.

screenshot of Linode Summary

You can simply click on Crete Linode to get started.

Wait for the server to boot.

screenshot of creating linode

Once it’s all set up, you’ll see a message that it’s running.

screenshot of message that server is running

Here, you can launch the LISH Console.

screenshot of tab with highlighted Launch LISH Console button

Here, you can use two options, Weblish, and Glish.

Weblish looks like this.

screenshot of the Weblish page

Glish looks like this.

screenshot of the Glish page

If you click on the three dots on the right side, you can close, resize, rebuild, rescue, migrate and even delete the Linode.

screenshot of the three dots button

That’s all there is to the Linodes tab; everything else is up to you to configure.

  • Volumes

This lets you create additional storage for your pre-created Linode.

screenshot of Volumes/Create page

A single volume can be from 10 to 10240 gibibytes in size and costs $0.10/GiB per month, and you can attach up to eight volumes to a single Linode.

  • NodeBalancers

A NodeBalancer is essentially assigned its own public IP address where it can listen for incoming connections, and then, through the usage of configurable rules, it can route the connection to the backend node. It allows the incoming traffic to load to an application, but be spread over any number of Linodes.

screenshot of NodeBalances/Create page

  • Firewalls

Through firewalls, you can control network access to your Linodes from the Cloud.

screenshot of Creating Firewall tab

  • StackScripts

Through StackScripts, you can automate the deployment.

There are Account StackScripts, and community StackScripts.

screenshot of StackScrips page

I love these as you can simply click on Deploy New Linode and set them up and running in no time.

  • Images

Here you can create images; all you have to do is select the Linode, the Disk, add a Label and a Description. Keep in mind that Images are limited to 6144MB of data per disk by default. You can open a support ticket to request a higher limit.

screenshot of creating image tab

  • Domains

This tab lets you create a Domain.

screenshot of Domains/Create page

You can do so by selecting if it’s primary or secondary, typing the domain itself, adding an SOA Email Address, and inserting the default records.

  • Kubernetes

To give you a bit of a higher perspective, Kubernetes is this open-source, container-orchestration system for automating computer application deployment, alongside scaling and management.

Through the Kubernetes menu on Linode, you can create clusters.

screenshot of Kubernetes/Create page

You can pick a different plan, all of which have different price points.

  • Object Storage

Through the object storage menu, you can create buckets of storage.

To do so, select the region.

Screenshot of Create Bucket tab

Then click on Create Bucket.

Screenshot of Create Bucket button

  • Longview

Screenshot of Longview page

To set things up, you’ll first need to install the Longview Agent on the server.

Longview enables you to monitor your system-level metrics in one place, through which you can easily analyze the performance graphs and keep track of your transfer usage from the Linode Cloud Manager. You can create custom alerts for when you are near any thresholds you have set.

You can toggle the CPU usage, Disk IO Rate, Incoming Traffic, Outbound Traffic and Transfer Quota. What I like about it is that you can schedule automatic reboots with the shutdown watchdogs.

The free version is limited to 10 servers, but provides sufficient data.

With their Pro plan, however, you will get the best possible data, but that would cost you extra.

  • Marketplace

Here, you can install certain extensions.

Screenshot of Marketplace tab

  • Account

You can review your account balance, accrued charges, billing address, and payment method on the account tab.

Screenshot of account tab

  • Help & Support

You can review the guides and tutorials, community Q&As, Linode Support Bot and Customer Support, on the help and support tab.

Screenshot of support page

Specific Features Linode

Linode offers an easily deployable cloud compute, storage, and networking solution that can be achieved in seconds by using a full-featured API, CLI, and Cloud Manager user-friendly interface.

When it comes to the list of the products it offers, you have multiple categories.

  1. Compute

Here you have access to Bare Metal, Kubernetes, Shared, Dedicated CPU, High Memory, and GPUs.

  1. Storage

Here you have block storage, object storage, and backups.

  1. Networking

Here you have DDoS protection, NodeBalancers, DNS Manager, a Cloud Firewall, and VLAN.

  1. Services

You have infrastructure management, as well as cloud consulting and migration.

  1. Tools

Here, you get access to tools such as the Cloud Manager, API through which you can manage Linode, CLI, or Command Line Access to the Linode Infrastructure, Terraform Provider, a marketplace filled with One-Click Apps, Images, Integrations, StackScripts, Monitoring, and Users & Permissions.

You can create a Linode through the usage of the Linode API, which allows you to automate any task that can be performed by the Cloud Manager, and this includes creating Linodes, managing IP addresses and DNS, and opening support tickets. Only authorized users can add Linodes and make changes to your account, and each request has to be authenticated with an access token.

When it comes to the solutions it offers, you have multiple categories as well.

eLearning – Here, you get a reliable infrastructure where you can host as well as scale your eLearning platform or tool. You get transparent, and competitive pricing, with technical support, included transfer, and scalability.

Machine Learning – Here, you can build, train and scale machine learning applications through powerful NVIDIA cloud GPUs, dedicated AMD processors, and free bundled transfer. You can set up a hybrid or multi-cloud, get 24/7 support, and start working with NVIDIA RTX 6000 GPUs.

MultiCloud – this uses two or more cloud computing providers and gives you the freedom to rely on different companies for specific use cases.

You can also access penetration and vulnerability testing, discrete workloads, bursting, and global load balancing, and distributed computing. You can also gain access to fail-over disaster recovery and automated backups.

Video Streaming – here, you can reduce margins while maintaining a high level of performance. Linode offers you the ability to build a new virtual event or video streaming platform.

In terms of the products they offer, you have websites, mobile apps, hosted services, big data, gaming, containers, E-commerce, analytics, Development & Testing, Backup & Archive, Digital Media, High-Performance Computing, Memory-Intensive Workloads, Internet of Things, Artificial Intelligence, Developer Tools, APIs, Databases, CDN, VPN, DNS, Advertising or Digital Marketing, Security Research, Mail Server Hosting, Education & Testing Services, Monitoring, CI/CD and VoIP.

When it comes to the level of security at Linode, the company is committed to the security of its infrastructure as well as the data of its users. Every component is designed to give you the foundation to build secure systems and applications that meet your specific needs, this is done through a shared security model, vulnerability management, physical security and networking, and certifications.

We also have to discuss the Linode API, which provides the ability to programmatically manage the full range of Linode products as well as services.

What this API essentially does is allow you to automate any task that can be performed in the Cloud Manager, and this includes creating Linodes, managing IP addresses and DNS, and opening support tickets to name a few. Keep in mind that you are charged when running commands depending on their complexity.

Note: Linode offers a 60-day free trial. The only thing you need to access the free trial is a valid credit card and an email address.

Security and Backups

Linode is committed to high-security levels regarding its infrastructure and its users’ data. Every component is designed to give you the foundation to build secure systems and applications that meet your specific needs. It’s done through a shared security model, vulnerability management, physical security and networking, and certifications.

You can protect the Linode data through redundant local backups. This way you’ll know that your data is safe and secure. The subscription service will actually, automatically perform daily, weekly, and biweekly local backups of your Linode.

In other words, you gain fully managed local backups, you can set when you want local backups or off-site backups, it gives you a configurable backup window, and you can enroll with one click.

Now, the fees change depending on the type of hosting you have.

  • Sharedthis starts at $2 per month for the Nanode 1 GB package, up to $240 per month for the Linode 192 GB package.
  • Dedicated CPU$5 per month for the Dedicated 4 GB package, up to $240 per month for the Dedicated 512 GB package.
  • High Memory$5 per month for the Linode 24 GB package, up to $80 per month for the Linode 300 GB package.
  • GPU$40 per month for the Dedicated 32 GB package, up to $320 per month for the Dedicated 128 GB package.

The interesting part about all of this is that you can review the pricing through a simple slider, you just slide it left to right, and you can clearly see the price changes per package selected.

Linode does not offer a free tier when it comes to the backup service, so copying the files over to a disk over SSH would be the best option for a lot of users.

Question: Does Linode offer DDoS protection?

Answer: Yes, DDoS protection is available across all regions and is free of charge.

Performance Speed and Uptime

When it comes to the speed to deployment and the overall server quality, it is top-notch, and I saw no delay in anything I did. As for uptime, in my time testing it, it never went offline. That’s all I really have to say about Linode, it’s quick, reliable, and gets the job done.

I’ve been finding myself every now and then having my server shut down due to hardware or software upgrades forced by Linode, they do let you pick the time but it happened more than a few times a year for some of my servers with them.

Note: Linode Hosting has a 99.9% uptime guarantee, which is great.

Their pricing is fair, however, they seem to be very strict never offering any discounts or any advantage for loyal customers, don’t get me wrong – they are one of the cheapest providers out there however for a client that’s been with them for over 4 years I’d expect a reach out with some upgrade discounts or like previously mentioned perhaps free backups or Longview Pro.

Level of Support Linode

To review the level of support, what I like to do is cancel my account and ask for a refund. This lets me see how nice the support team is, and how quickly they respond.

Note that if you request a refund within 7 days of making the account, you will receive a full refund on your initial deposit.

Warning: When canceling an account after the first 7 days, there is a $5 processing fee.

First, you have the Linode Bot, which is always present on the screen’s bottom right corner.
Screenshot of the conversation with chat bot
He will inform you of ways through which you can contact the support team.

In my case, I’ll open a support ticket.

To do this, I went to the Help & Support tab on the left.

screenshot of the left sidebar

I clicked on it, and selected Open New Ticket.

Screenshot of Support/Tickets page

screenshot of open a support ticket page

Here you can describe what you need.

Here’s what I wrote.

screenshot of the support ticket

And I just clicked on “Open Ticket”.

screenshot of the support ticket

That’s all there is to requesting a refund, and canceling your account.

Throughout my experience of over 5 years using Linode, I didn’t really ever need their assistance. The fact is that if you know your way around the OS that you have chosen, you will have no issues at all.

The only instances where I’ve needed to contact support was to figure out what the best configurations are. There could potentially be some unplanned connectivity data center issues, as well as planned downtimes, but these are rare.

Question: Which payment methods does Linode Hosting accept?

Answer: Linode Hosting accepts payments via credit card, debit card, Google pay, PayPal, check, ACH, and wire transfer.


Monthly Updates

During April 2022, Linode Hosting:

  • Announced it won the 2022 People’s Choice Award for Favorite Customer Service in computer services.
  • Posted its calendar for 2022 Spring Events, the first being in April.
  • Announced that Akamai Technologies has acquired Linode.
  • Experienced connectivity issues with its Newark datacenter.
  • Experienced connectivity issues with its LKE API Server Loadbalancers in its Dallas and Newark datacenters.
  • Experienced connectivity issues with its Login Portal and Linode API.
  • Performed scheduled maintenance for backups on its EU-West London datacenter.
  • Performed scheduled network maintenance on its EU-West London datacenter.

During March 2022, Linode Hosting:

  • Experienced service issues with the Block Storage service in its Frankfurt datacenter.
  • Experienced service issues with its Linode Cloud Manager.
  • Performed emergency network maintenance on its AP-South Singapore datacenter.
  • Performed scheduled network maintenance on its AP-West Mumbai datacenter.
  • Announced that its new Managed Database service is in open beta.
  • Announced that it won two Stevie Awards.

During February 2022, Linode Hosting:

  • Experienced connectivity issues on their Frankfurt Server.
  • Performed emergency network maintenance on their Frankfurt Server.
  • Experienced IPv6 connectivity issues on their London Server.
  • Performed scheduled network maintenance on their Mumbai Server.
  • Experienced service issues on their Sydney Server.
  • Performed scheduled network maintenance on their London Server.
  • Announced that Slackware 15.0 is available to deploy on Linode.
  • Announced that NVMe Block Storage is now available in their Sydney Data Center.
  • Released their High-Availability Control Panel for LKE.

During January 2022, Linode Hosting:

During December 2021, Linode Hosting:

  • Scheduled emergency maintenance for Cloud Manager, API, and CLI.
  • Parablu announced that it will strengthen its SaaS offerings through Linode’s Partner Program.
  • Taken steps towards securing BGP in its own networks.
  • Harbor now available on the Linode Marketplace.
  • Plans for upgrading all of their Block Storage to NVMe.
  • Added PayPal as a primary method for making or managing recurring payments.
  • Alpine Linux 3.15.0 is now available.
  • Pritunl VPN now available on the Linode Marketplace.

During November 2021, Linode Hosting:

During October 2021, Linode Hosting:

During September 2021, Linode Hosting:

  • Performed scheduled maintenance, emergency backups maintenance, network maintenance, support tickets maintenance, had connectivity issues, and DNS propagation delays
  • Introduced NVMe block storage in Atlanta

During August 2021, Linode Hosting:

  • Had scheduled network maintenance, emergency network maintenance, service issues, and connectivity issues (17 total incidents)
  • Introduced seven new One-Click Apps to the Linode Marketplace: Moodle, JetApps, NirvaShare, MagicSpam, aaPanel, ClusterControl, and Chevereto; Added Debian 11
  • Integrated Google Pay for Recurring Payments

During July 2021, Linode Hosting:

During June 2021, Linode Hosting:

  • Reported scheduled and emergency network maintenance and two connectivity issues
  • Celebrated 18 years of existence, announcing new products and features (expanding payment options to support Google Pay, releasing autoscaling control plane resources in Linode Kubernetes Engine; providing support for Cloud-Init and a Metadata Service; introducing Bare Metal beta offering; upgrading all Block Storage clusters from spinning drives to NVMe; incorporating account management tools designed for Linode partners and providers; leveling up their network and fleet to ensure all products are available globally in every data center)
  • Reported scheduled and emergency network maintenance, two connectivity issues, and one service issue

During May 2021, Linode Hosting:


Summary

Linode offers a wide range of solutions, for a wide range of use-cases. It is truly the one-in-all platform that allows you to host just about anything. It has competitive pricing, and a solid level of support, albeit not live chat support. That is understandable though, as the sheer number of services it offers is outstanding. I specifically love the fact that it has a high level of performance, and everything can be configured easily. I’d recommend it to anyone that has at least a bit of experience with web hosting.

Linode is excellent, however, after more than 5 years of using them, I decided to switch to Webdock.IO due to the fact that they come at a much better price and you save $20 to cPanel as well which brings the costs even lower.

Linode pros

  • All of the servers on offer here are extremely easy to configure, and you can install what you need.
  • It is a lot cheaper when compared to other clouds VMs.
  • Performance is solid, and you can host small applications on even the cheapest $5 package.

Linode cons

  • No Live Chat Support
  • All other features Cost Extra
  • Automated Backups Cost Extra

FAQ

What Is a Linode Server?

Linode is a privately owned virtual private server provider based in Galloway, New Jersey. It’s a portmanteau of the words Linux and node, essentially connected to the services the company provides – cloud computing and Linux servers.

Can I Host A Website On Linode?

Yes, hosting a website is one of the primary uses of Linode Hosting. The term website in this sense can refer to anything from a single HTML file to an interactive application with multiple components. In turn, your hosting process and experience will vary greatly depending on the type of site you wish to host on the web.

Is Linode Hosting Good?

Linode Hosting provides for superior uptime and performance, with fast loading speeds an uptime guarantee. You can also benefit from enhanced security and backup options, and knowledgeable customer support at an affordable price.

Linode Prices, Plans & Features - 2022

Shared Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space Bandwidth Panel Number of Sites Price Score
Shared 1 25 GB 1 TB cPanel 1 NZ$5.00 3.3 Details
Shared 2 80 GB 4 TB cPanel 1 NZ$20.00 3.3 Details

Dedicated Server Plans

Plan Name Space CPU RAM OS Price Score
Dedicated CPU 4GB 80 GB 2 cores 4 GB NZ$20.00 3.3 Details
Dedicated CPU 4GB 160 GB 4 cores 8 GB NZ$60.00 3.3 Details
Dedicated CPU 16GB 320 GB 8 cores 16 GB NZ$120.00 3.3 Details
Dedicated CPU 32GB 640 GB 16 cores 32 GB NZ$240.00 3.3 Details
Dedicated CPU 64GB 1.25 TB 32 cores 64 GB NZ$480.00 3.3 Details
Dedicated CPU 96GB 1.88 TB 48 cores 96 GB NZ$720.00 3.3 Details
Dedicated CPU 128GB 2.4 TB 50 cores 128 GB NZ$960.00 3.3 Details
Dedicated CPU 256GB 4.88 TB 56 cores 256 GB NZ$1,920.00 3.3 Details
Dedicated CPU 512GB 7.03 TB 64 cores 512 GB NZ$3,840.00 3.3 Details
GPU Plan 1 640 GB 8 cores 32 GB NZ$1,000.00 3.3 Details
GPU Plan 2 1.25 TB 16 cores 64 GB NZ$2,000.00 3.3 Details
GPU Plan 3 1.88 TB 20 cores 96 GB NZ$3,000.00 3.3 Details
GPU Plan 4 2.5 TB 24 cores 128 GB NZ$4,000.00 3.3 Details

Cloud Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space CPU RAM Bandwidth Price Score
Shared Linode 1GB 25 GB 1 core 1 GB 1 TB NZ$5.00 3.0 Details
Shared Linode 2GB 50 GB 1 core 2 GB 2 TB NZ$10.00 3.0 Details
Shared Linode 4GB 80 GB 2 cores 4 GB 4 TB NZ$20.00 3.7 Details
Shared Linode 8GB 160 GB 4 cores 8 GB 5 TB NZ$40.00 3.8 Details
Shared Linode 16GB 320 GB 6 cores 16 GB 8 TB NZ$80.00 3.3 Details
Shared Linode 32GB 640 GB 8 cores 32 GB 16 TB NZ$160.00 3.3 Details
Shared Linode 64GB 1.25 TB 16 cores 64 GB 20 TB NZ$320.00 1.4 Details
Shared Linode 96GB 1.88 TB 20 cores 96 GB 20 TB NZ$480.00 3.3 Details
Shared Linode 128GB 2.5 TB 20 cores 128 GB 20 TB NZ$640.00 3.3 Details
Shared Linode 192GB 3.75 TB 32 cores 192 GB 20 TB NZ$960.00 3.3 Details
High Memory Plan 1 20 GB 1 core 24 GB 5 TB NZ$60.00 3.3 Details
High Memory Plan 2 40 GB 2 cores 48 GB 6 TB NZ$120.00 3.3 Details
High Memory Plan 3 90 GB 4 cores 90 GB 7 TB NZ$240.00 3.3 Details
High Memory Plan 4 200 GB 8 cores 150 GB 8 TB NZ$480.00 3.3 Details
High Memory Plan 5 340 GB 16 cores 300 GB 9 TB NZ$960.00 3.3 Details

Check Similar Hosting Companies:

  • 1
    InterServer
    Money Back 30 Days
    Expert Review
    4.4
    InterServer Reviews 410 reviews
    Starting Price
    NZ$2.50 / mo
    64 Hosting Plans
    2 Data Centers
    wrench
    Over 400 Apps are available for 1-click installs
    uptime
    High-performance SSD storage and 99.9% Uptime Guarantee
    check
    24/7 Available Epic Support
    Visit Site
  • 0
    Hostens
    Money Back 30 Days
    Expert Review
    4.4
    Hostens Reviews 244 reviews
    Starting Price
    NZ$0.90 / mo
    21 Hosting Plans
    1 Data Centers
    database
    Up to 80 GB Disk Space,16 TB Bandwidth
    check
    Offer One Of The Cheapest Prices On The Market
    check
    24/7 Customer Support Service
    Visit Site
  • 11
    Kamatera
    Money Back Free Trial
    Expert Review
    4.8
    Kamatera Reviews 139 reviews
    Starting Price
    NZ$4.00 / mo
    23 Hosting Plans
    12 Data Centers
    globe
    Purpose-Built, High-End VPS Data Centers Across 4 Continents
    vps
    Fastest Cloud VPS With Guaranteed Dedicated Resources
    check
    Scalability And Ease Of Use
    Visit Site
  • 24
    Cloudways
    Money Back 30 Days
    Expert Review
    4.7
    Cloudways Reviews 534 reviews
    Starting Price
    NZ$6.60 / mo
    27 Hosting Plans
    25 Data Centers
    database
    SSD, Pre-Configured PHP-FPM, HTTP/2 Supported Servers
    vps
    Auto-Healing VPS Servers Without Website Crashing
    check
    Pay As You Go Billing
    Visit Site

Web Hosting in Compare:

Select at least 1 more company to compare
Cancel Compare